Before we get into what energy drinks are kosher, we should delve into the meaning of this. An energy drink is kosher if it has the kosher certification. Just because a manufacturer claims that their product is kosher does not mean it is.

They should provide the necessary certification to prove as much. A kosher product complies with the kosher food laws, which include purity, quality, and cleanliness. And it is not only regarding the food preparation but rather compliance with the biblical laws.

There are foods a Jewish person can eat, and those they should not touch. And for those they can eat, there are strict rules regarding the preparation process. So, where an energy drink does not comply with the said rules, it is not kosher.

In this article, we will focus on these drinks a little more, giving you much-needed information.

How an energy drink becomes kosher

After the introduction of energy drinks in the market, the public was quick to consume these beverages. Others did it out of curiosity. After all, if you hear that a drink can give you energy, would you not want to try it?

Other people drank them out of need while others drank them for the taste. Over time, there was a need to come up with Kosher energy drinks.

And this took place by partnering with beverage companies across the world. When the certifications first began, some people thought that energy drinks would not last long.

For that reason, the certification process was not aggressive. But of course, there was a need for this certification. Without it, Jewish people would have consumed foods that were not in line with their religious laws.

The hesitation from beverage companies owed to several factors. If you take a look at the labels on energy drinks, you can feel discouraged from consuming the drinks. You will find warnings that people with pre-existing health conditions should not take these drinks.

An example would be diabetics, whose insulin and blood sugar levels can get affected by caffeine and sugar. You also see that pregnant women and children should avoid these drinks. The same goes for caffeine-sensitive people.

Secondly, there is the issue of the high caffeine content. By law in most states, manufacturers must state that the drinks contain a lot of caffeine. That can bring about many health concerns that might make people turn these drinks down.

With all these risks, companies thought the general public would not be highly receptive to the drinks. If anything, they thought of the energy drink high consumption as a phase that would come to pass. They were wrong as the consumption rates continue to rise by the day.

But at first, they were not open to producing a kosher line, as they were unsure of the future.

Thus, the kosher requirements came into play after much consideration. One thing these drinks must have is a hechsher. You will see that it is an involving process. From making changes to their filling facilities to investigating every ingredient, it takes a lot of work.

Certified kosher energy drinks

Presently, there are many Kosher energy drinks in the market which have passed the tests. Take an example of the 5 Hour Energy Drink, which is kosher only when bearing the Star K on the label.

Another example is Cranergy, which comprises cranberry and grape concentrates. Other ingredients include tea, guarana, and coffee extracts. This drink has caffeine content lower than most energy drinks in the market.

You need to be on the lookout for the labels OU or the star K when choosing an energy drink to determine if it is kosher. Alternatively, you can contact manufacturers for more information.

These energy drinks are kosher:

  • 5 Hour energy drink
  • Sambazon
  • Celsius
  • Cobra
  • Full Throttle
  • Coca-Cola Energy
  • Jolt
  • NOS energy drink
  • XS energy
  • Red Bull (original & sugar free)
  • Tatra
  • Vault
  • Venom


While some energy drinks may be kosher, they are not necessarily healthy. These beverages contain high amounts of caffeine and sugar. And when you use these ingredients often in the long-term, you can end up suffering complications.

Thus, only use them when you have to do so. Read the labels and stay safe!